What's new

We have reopened our doors April 1, 2021 for use by patrons.

 

Safety protocols for reopening:

 

 Mask may be worn but not required

  Use hand sanitizer upon entering building.

 Gloves are provided but not required

 Sign in and complete the health survey at the door upon entering.  Sign out with time and initials on the attendance form when you leave.

  Social distancing of 6’ and only one patron in each set of stacks at a time

 

Curbside pickup has continued to be popular and will remain available to all patrons.

 

Please help us spread this good news, especially to those who do not have computer access!

 

Learn How to Grow Cherry Tomatoes

and Lettuce in a 3-gallon bucket with Cornell Cooperative Ext. of Lewis County

$5.00 (pre-paid) per planted bucket, 15-person limit.

To register for BHM-Greig: Carrie at 315-348-7027 or widwalk@twcny.rr.com

For more information on gardening, contact Cornell Cooperative Extension of Lewis County, Outreach Ag Educator, Mellissa Spence, mms427@cornell.edu, 315-376-5270        

Other locations:

June 1, 2021 @ 12:30 p.m.     Beaver Falls Library

June 1, 2021 @  3:00 p.m.      Greig Library

June 2, 2021 @ 11:00 a.m.     Croghan Library

June 2, 2021 @  1:00 p.m.      Lowville Library

June 3, 2021 @  5:00 p.m.      West Leyden Library

June 4, 2021 @ 11:00 a.m.     Martinsburg Library

Cherry tomatoes require full sun and well-drained soil. We will transplant 1 cherry tomato plant and a bunch of lettuce. You will go home with a 3.5-gallon bucket, soil, a bamboo stake, 1 tomato and lettuce. Come and enjoy the adventure of growing your own vegetables in containers that require little space and just a little TLC. Eating fresh produce is a healthy snack.

Masks are required at this event.

Due to the ongoing Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic all information is subject to change for the health, safety, and well-being of our community.

 All social distancing guidelines will be followed!

 

BOOK CLUB 

May 19, 2021 is The Exiles by Kristina Baker Kline.

June 16, 2021 The Book of Lost Names by Kristen Harmel.

 

New Books May 2021

A Gambling Man by David Baldacci   

Aloysius Archer, the straight-talking World War II veteran fresh out of prison, returns in this riveting new thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author David Baldacci.

 

Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett must accompany a Silicon Valley CEO on a hunting trip--but soon learns that he himself may be the hunted--in the thrilling new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author C. J. Box.

 

This emotional novel is filled with twists, turns, and displays of bravery and love that you will never forget, culminating in an ending that manages to be both surprising and uplifting." —Lisa Scottoline

 

Detective Lindsay Boxer vows to protect a young woman from a serial killer long enough to see her twenty-first birthday.

When young wife and mother Tara Burke goes missing with her baby girl, all eyes are on her husband, Lucas. He paints her not as a missing person but a wayward wife—until a gruesome piece of evidence turns the investigation criminal. 
 

 'Another read by James Patterson which had me gripped and desperate to know what happens next! Brilliant.' 'The Red Book is everything you expect from a James Patterson book: fast-paced, gripping, twists and turns at every corner.

In an effort to help housewives with food rationing, a BBC radio program called The Kitchen Front is holding a cooking contest—and the grand prize is a job as the program’s first-ever female co-host.

 

 

New York Times bestselling author Karen White weaves a captivating story of friendship, love, and betrayal that moves between war-torn London during the Blitz and the present day.

 

More New Books March 2021

Private Moscow

NYPD Red (NYPD Red, 1)

Deadly Cross (Alex Cross, 28)

Image of The Russian (ebook)

Three Women Disappear (ebook)

 

NEW BOOKS - March 2021

Image of The Four Winds (Hardcover book) by Kristin Hannah | Monthly Book Box Subscription | Book of the Month books

The Four Winds is a deeply moving, powerful story about the strength and resilience of women and the bond between mother and daughter, by the multi-million copy number one bestselling author Kristin Hannah.

 

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

 

April 18, 1906: A massive earthquake rocks San Francisco just before daybreak, igniting a devouring inferno. Lives are lost, lives are shattered, but some rise from the ashes forever changed.
Sophie Whalen is a young Irish immigrant so desperate to get out of a New York tenement that she answers a mail-order bride ad and agrees to marry a man she knows nothing about. San Francisco widower Martin Hocking proves to be as aloof as he is mesmerizingly handsome. Sophie quickly develops deep affection for Kat, Martin's silent five-year-old daughter, but Martin's odd behavior leaves her with the uneasy feeling that something about her newfound situation isn't right.

 

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Danielle Steel follows a talented and creative woman as she launches her first television series, helping to recruit an unforgettable cast that will bring a dramatic family saga to the screen.

 

NEW BOOKS - OCTOBER 2020

The Storm Beyond The Tides by Jonathon Cullen.  

The Storm Beyond The Tides: Cullen, Jonathan: 9781079524871: Amazon.com:  Books

                                         The Storm Beyond The Tides is the story of the unlikely romance between a small-town girl and a German on the eve of the Second World War and explores a frightening time in America's past--when U-Boats prowled the East Coast and put small, coastal communities on the frontline of a global conflict.

 


A Time For Mercy by John Grisham

Bursting with all the courthouse scheming, small-town intrigue, and stunning plot twists that have become the hallmarks of the master of the legal thriller, A Time for Mercy is John Grisham’s most powerful courtroom drama yet.


The Winemaker’s Wife by Kristin Harmel

"From the author of the "engrossing" (People) and "poignant" (Booklist) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amelie comes a remarkable and moving story of love, danger, and betrayal: two women in France in the darkest days of World War II and another in present-day America on a quest to uncover the secret that connects them. At the dawn of the Second World War, Ines is the young wife of Michel, owner of the House of Chauveau, a small champagne winery nestled among rolling vineyards near Reims, France. Marrying into a storied champagne empire was supposed to be a dream come true, but Ines feels increasingly isolated, purposely left out of the business by her husband; his chef de cave, Theo; and Theo's wife, Sarah. But these disappointments pale in comparison to the increasing danger ...

 


Hidden Valley Road by Robert Kolker - nonfiction

The heartrending story of a midcentury American family with twelve children, six of them diagnosed with schizophrenia, that became science's great hope in the quest to understand the disease.


Fifty Words For Rain by Asha Lemmie

Kyoto, Japan, 1948. “Do not question. Do not fight. Do not resist.”

Such is eight-year-old Noriko “Nori” Kamiza’s first lesson. She will not question why her mother abandoned her with only these final words. She will not fight her confinement to the attic of her grandparents’ imperial estate. And she will not resist the scalding chemical baths she receives daily to lighten her skin.

Image of book page. Click to open preview.

 

**CURBSIDE  SERVICE  AVAILABLE ****

 

Browse the library holdings at bhmgreads.org using the link in the SEARCH OUR LIBRARY box on the lower left side of the home page.  Directions are available on the website (click here), posted on the library door, or available by emailing the library at bhmlib@ncls.org,
 

Send an e-mail to the library at bhmlib@ncls.org with HOLDS as the subject line.  The following information must be included for us to fulfill your request:

1. patron name, card number and phone number

2. author and title of books or DVDs

If you are looking for children’s books and are not certain of titles or authors, indicate children’s age(s) and areas of interest and selections will be made for you.

You will be called during regular library hours when your request is received and processed. 

Library hours are Tuesday and Thursday 2:00–4:00, Saturday 10:00-12:00.

Materials will be bagged, marked with patron’s name and placed in the pickup box outside the library door.  Pickup can occur at any time.

Return materials using the book drop box.  All returns are quarantined at least 72 hours.

Please observe proper social distancing, including wearing masks, while picking up or dropping off books.

If you would like to request a library card or have questions, please call the library at (315) 348-8272 Ext. 5 and leave a message.

 

NOTE CARDS

Beautiful note cards are available at the Library.  All proceeds go to the Brantingham Fish Fund.  The artist is Judy Wilson of Brantingham.  Packet of 4 is $ 5.00. 

Preview available at this link:  https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1503489743084177&set=p.1503489743084177&type=3

 

Library Hours: 

Tuesday & Thursdays 2-4 pm,

Saturdays 10:00 am-Noon

Note:  If South Lewis School District is closed due to inclement weather the Library will also be closed.  Our Library is staffed by volunteers and if the scheduled volunteer feels that travel is unsafe, the Library may also be closed.

Public Notice for next Library Board Meeting- July 8, 2021 at 9:00 am

Subscribe to Brantingham-Greig Reading Center RSS