What's new

We have reopened our doors April 1, 2021 for use by patrons, following the same safety guidelines used in October.

 

We cannot open for programs at this time; however, we are beginning early planning so that we are prepared when gatherings can resume.  We also look forward to welcoming back our volunteers when it is safe to do so.

 

Safety protocols for reopening:

 

 3 patrons allowed at one time

 Mask must be worn at all times

 Please knock - a volunteer will greet you at the door.

 Use hand sanitizer upon entering building.

 Wear provided gloves at all times while in the library

 Sign in and complete the health survey at the door upon entering.  Sign out with time and initials on the attendance form when you leave.

 Please do not remove gloves until after leaving the library.

 Social distancing of 6’ and only one patron in each set of stacks at a time

 

Curbside pickup has continued to be popular and will remain available to all patrons.

 

Please help us spread this good news, especially to those who do not have computer access!

 

BOOK CLUB via Zoom

April  21, 2021 will be the book Indigo Girl by Natasha Boyd.

May 19, 2021 is The Exiles by Kristina Baker Kline.

June 16, 2021 The Book of Lost Names by Kristen Harmel.

 

More New Books March 2021

Private Moscow

NYPD Red (NYPD Red, 1)

Deadly Cross (Alex Cross, 28)

Image of The Russian (ebook)

Three Women Disappear (ebook)

 

NEW BOOKS - March 2021

Image of The Four Winds (Hardcover book) by Kristin Hannah | Monthly Book Box Subscription | Book of the Month books

The Four Winds is a deeply moving, powerful story about the strength and resilience of women and the bond between mother and daughter, by the multi-million copy number one bestselling author Kristin Hannah.

 

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

 

April 18, 1906: A massive earthquake rocks San Francisco just before daybreak, igniting a devouring inferno. Lives are lost, lives are shattered, but some rise from the ashes forever changed.
Sophie Whalen is a young Irish immigrant so desperate to get out of a New York tenement that she answers a mail-order bride ad and agrees to marry a man she knows nothing about. San Francisco widower Martin Hocking proves to be as aloof as he is mesmerizingly handsome. Sophie quickly develops deep affection for Kat, Martin's silent five-year-old daughter, but Martin's odd behavior leaves her with the uneasy feeling that something about her newfound situation isn't right.

 

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Danielle Steel follows a talented and creative woman as she launches her first television series, helping to recruit an unforgettable cast that will bring a dramatic family saga to the screen.

 

NEW BOOKS - OCTOBER 2020

The Storm Beyond The Tides by Jonathon Cullen.  

The Storm Beyond The Tides: Cullen, Jonathan: 9781079524871: Amazon.com:  Books

                                         The Storm Beyond The Tides is the story of the unlikely romance between a small-town girl and a German on the eve of the Second World War and explores a frightening time in America's past--when U-Boats prowled the East Coast and put small, coastal communities on the frontline of a global conflict.

 


A Time For Mercy by John Grisham

Bursting with all the courthouse scheming, small-town intrigue, and stunning plot twists that have become the hallmarks of the master of the legal thriller, A Time for Mercy is John Grisham’s most powerful courtroom drama yet.


The Winemaker’s Wife by Kristin Harmel

"From the author of the "engrossing" (People) and "poignant" (Booklist) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amelie comes a remarkable and moving story of love, danger, and betrayal: two women in France in the darkest days of World War II and another in present-day America on a quest to uncover the secret that connects them. At the dawn of the Second World War, Ines is the young wife of Michel, owner of the House of Chauveau, a small champagne winery nestled among rolling vineyards near Reims, France. Marrying into a storied champagne empire was supposed to be a dream come true, but Ines feels increasingly isolated, purposely left out of the business by her husband; his chef de cave, Theo; and Theo's wife, Sarah. But these disappointments pale in comparison to the increasing danger ...

 


Hidden Valley Road by Robert Kolker - nonfiction

The heartrending story of a midcentury American family with twelve children, six of them diagnosed with schizophrenia, that became science's great hope in the quest to understand the disease.


Fifty Words For Rain by Asha Lemmie

Kyoto, Japan, 1948. “Do not question. Do not fight. Do not resist.”

Such is eight-year-old Noriko “Nori” Kamiza’s first lesson. She will not question why her mother abandoned her with only these final words. She will not fight her confinement to the attic of her grandparents’ imperial estate. And she will not resist the scalding chemical baths she receives daily to lighten her skin.

Image of book page. Click to open preview.

 

NEW BOOKS- SEPTEMBER 2020

The Lost Girls of Devon by Barbara O’Neal

Bestselling author of "When We Believed in Mermaids" comes a story of four generations of women grappling with family betrayals and long-buried secrets.



 

The Orphan Collector by Ellen Marie Wiseman - See above

The Color if Air by Gail Tsukiyama

A gorgeous and evocative historical novel about a Japanese-American family set against the backdrop of Hawaii's sugar paltations.


Cajun Justice by James Patterson

This new standalone thriller from the world's #1 bestselling author follows ex-Secret Service agent, Cain Lemaire, as he uncovers the dark secrets hidden beneath the Tokyo streets.



 

DVD Rebecca

 

**CURBSIDE  SERVICE  AVAILABLE ****

 

Browse the library holdings at bhmgreads.org using the link in the SEARCH OUR LIBRARY box on the lower left side of the home page.  Directions are available on the website (click here), posted on the library door, or available by emailing the library at bhmlib@ncls.org,
 

Send an e-mail to the library at bhmlib@ncls.org with HOLDS as the subject line.  The following information must be included for us to fulfill your request:

1. patron name, card number and phone number

2. author and title of books or DVDs

If you are looking for children’s books and are not certain of titles or authors, indicate children’s age(s) and areas of interest and selections will be made for you.

You will be called during regular library hours when your request is received and processed. 

Library hours are Tuesday and Thursday 2:00–4:00, Saturday 10:00-12:00.

Materials will be bagged, marked with patron’s name and placed in the pickup box outside the library door.  Pickup can occur at any time.

Return materials using the book drop box.  All returns are quarantined at least 72 hours.

Please observe proper social distancing, including wearing masks, while picking up or dropping off books.

If you would like to request a library card or have questions, please call the library at (315) 348-8272 Ext. 5 and leave a message.

 

We are not accepting donations until further notice.


NEW BOOKS AUGUST 2020

The Girl With the Louding Voice by Abi Dare

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

The Henna Artist by Alka Josh

The Jane Austen Society by Natalie Jenner

Where the Lost Wander by Amy Harmon

Sisters of the Southern Cross by Jean Grainger

Midwife Murders by James Patterson 

What You Wish For by Katherine Center

The Color of Compromise by Jemar Tisby  NF

The Room Where it Happened by John Bolton  NF

DVD  Foyles War  Season 1

DVD   Motherless Brooklyn

 

NOTE CARDS

Beautiful note cards are available at the Library.  All proceeds go to the Brantingham Fish Fund.  The artist is Judy Wilson of Brantingham.  Packet of 4 is $ 5.00. 

Preview available at this link:  https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1503489743084177&set=p.1503489743084177&type=3

 

 

Library Hours: 

Tuesday & Thursdays 2-4 pm,

Saturdays 10:00 am-Noon

Note:  If South Lewis School District is closed due to inclement weather the Library will also be closed.  Our Library is staffed by volunteers and if the scheduled volunteer feels that travel is unsafe, the Library may also be closed.

 

Subscribe to Brantingham-Greig Reading Center RSS